". . .  thanks to the singer’s

confidence and clarity, the

results have

an integration

that belies the comparative newness of

their project." - bristol247.com

Sunday, March 17th

We Are Leif

+ Will Hobson's Groove Merchants




"Think back to the 90s Acid Jazz led heyday of jazz influenced

sounds hitting the mainstream . . . and you are part way to understanding

what these guys

are about." 

- Tap the Feed

"While I’ve Found You  may be the stand-out track, there is much to love about Breathe.  In fact, starting at the beginning and listening to the end will make you happier with your life." - A Little More Vodka

Led by the songwriting team of Louise Victoria and Mark Whitlam, We Are Leif are currently touring to promote their acclaimed debut release, Breathe.


This group deftly span the balance of contemporary jazz sensibilities with the groove and sound world more associated with Neo Soul, R'n'B and downtempo. Musically there are nods in the direction of Erykah Badu, London Grammar and Jill Scott, while retaining a classic Bristol sound, steeped in the history of bands like Portishead and Massive Attack

"Blending their improv jazz chops with Neo Soul and grown-up R‘n’B, then giving it a smoky, backstreet club vibe borrowed from Trip Hop and unmistakably Bristolian, with Breathe We Are Leif have created something that is reassuringly familiar yet excitingly new," said Tap The Feed when reviewing the album.

Between them, the band members have worked with the likes of ECM artists Andy Sheppard and Iain Ballamy, plus Joss Stone, Beverley Knight, Jason Rebello, Clare Teal, Adrian Utley of Portishead, Goldfrapp’s Will Gregory, The Black Crowes’ Mark Ford and Type Sun.

Louise Victoria (Vocals), Dale Hambridge (Piano/Keyboards), Chris Jones (Electric Bass), Mark Whitlam (Drums/Electronics).

Supporting are Will Hobson's Groove Merchants, comprising first year jazz students studying at the prestigious Guildhall School of Music and Drama.


Fronted by former Essex Youth Jazz Orchestra pianist Will Hobson, the band members have a diverse range of influences spanning the decades - from jazz’s inception to the modern day. Their support set will focus on groove-based music, playing original tunes alongside other musicians' compositions, with stimuli including Mike Stern, Robert Glasper, Aaron Parks and Pat Metheny.


Will Hobson (Piano), Francisco Garcia de Paredes (Guitar), Olly Meredith (Bass), Callum Murray (Drums).

Tickets: £14 / £12 Concessions. Students 2-for-1

Doors: 7.00pm. Will Hobson's Groove Merchants: 7.30pm. We Are Leif: 8.30pm